Author Topic: process priorities  (Read 3958 times)

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Gender: Male
process priorities
« on: August 19, 2014, 01:55:00 PM »
I am posting here first, just to make sure this info correct and if we feel would benifit others we can move to PL section .

1) I have slowly moved some background processes to below normal .
now the ones i lowered are ones that either don't really do much (like some of Intels services ) or I want lower if my foreground is the focus and I don't want it eating up CPU% even if its low . This would be HW monitor either AB or other HW/MB software that constantly polls system .

My understanding when setting to below normal nothing much changes if there not a lot of CPU% being used, but once there more processes or threads running where fighting for CPU cycles can happen is when the priorities start doing there thing .

I know in documentation and FAQ you say not to set priorities and just let Probalance do it's thing but i think it can help in certain app .

I know in some games for example I can sometimes tell HW monitoring is on but it would never get triggered , game just doesn't seem as smooth as it is off .
not sure that is placebo effect but i think its real .

What do you think on this ?


Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5210
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: process priorities
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2014, 03:18:13 PM »
It can be safe, if you're cautious. The layman certainly isn't capable of making informed decisions, which is why I recommend against it.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Gender: Male
Re: process priorities
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2014, 03:21:36 PM »
I would said that you should reducing the polling rate of monitoring tools, so you don't block the hardware too much. :)

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Gender: Male
Re: process priorities
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2014, 04:33:35 PM »
I would said that you should reducing the polling rate of monitoring tools, so you don't block the hardware too much. :)
hehe, I do that too , were i have it available , like PL GUI I set it to 5sec , I don't need it higher by default . I can always change it if I am looking for issue that may not show good at that polling rate .
MSI AB , I set to 1800 polling , that generally works ok and as you know by default it is below normal . So it only OpenHardware monitor that I have set to below normal and a few Intel services, which don't really do much (LMS.exe ) .
So its not many, for sure I am not trying to prioritize all processes .
Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5210
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: process priorities
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2014, 06:56:21 PM »
It matters more for certain software. I've obsessed about keeping Lasso's overhead low. Not so much for corporate produced crap, where management couldn't care less, and so they don't give the engineers time to do things like optimize :o.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Gender: Male
Re: process priorities
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2014, 07:07:31 PM »
Yes, you need to know what kind of app your trying to change, some or even many should not be , guess no easy way to explain to the masses .
Bitsum QA Engineer

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Gender: Male
Re: process priorities
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2014, 04:28:13 AM »
Ya, it is normal to see that, you got a lot of crap functions for just a Chat software(QQ), IME(input method editors), as they want to suck your money so badly.

It is all right if the software is optimize enough, and allow me to disable the crap functions to reduce the CPU/memory usage, but most of them are not and even pop a window to telling you use this, use that functions, which is the issues... :P

Even worst, some of them will silent install other software that they bundle into it, or their other software too, then their installed crap software will keep silent install other software, and you know what happen....
---
Anyways, you can try disable Intel services, I disable all of them so far, and don't see any issues at all. :)
It look like most of them are just for logging(IRST), playing protected video(Graphic), and maybe provide advanced feature for managing computer(ME/MEI).

And even you don't wanna disable it, they did a good jobs for keeping the CPU and mem usage very low too, just too bad they often drop their 2-4 years old Product, so you can't get newest driver that should be working great for newest Windows, until you buy their new products....