Author Topic: Command line applications - how to keep them on the screen...  (Read 8998 times)

Offline hanemach_gt

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member++
  • *****
  • Posts: 270
  • Gender: Male
Do you work a lot with command line programs and are irritated by the fact that double-clicking an executable (usually) causes it to disappear quickly?
This is a DOS habit-leftover, where programs were launched from the prompt, so it was unnecessary for them to pause at their "end". A program was returning to the prompt after having been executed and there was no graphical user interface to return to, except the prompt. Main aim of this trick is to make it possible to look up command line switches/arguments.

However, it is possible to work around it. I have tried to add an entry to right-click context menu and... it worked.



I attach 2 files along with the post - their names tell about themselves. The trick described above was proved working in Windows 7.
As always - this and every advice comes with no warranty, the user makes use of it at their own risk.

EDIT: Re-attached files, typo fixed.  :)
« Last Edit: August 10, 2013, 04:51:32 AM by hanemach_gt »


<img src="http://imageshack.com/a/img913/7827/On37F9.gif"/>

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Gender: Male
Re: Command line applications - how to keep them on the screen...
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2013, 02:07:47 PM »
Great tip!
I always crazy for clicking on the pause button many time. ;D

Offline hanemach_gt

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member++
  • *****
  • Posts: 270
  • Gender: Male
Re: Command line applications - how to keep them on the screen...
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2013, 02:25:26 PM »
Great tip!
I always crazy for clicking on the pause button many time. ;D

You can always turn on shutter mode in your camera to catch the hilarious moment of displaying cute Command Prompt window.  ;)
<img src="http://imageshack.com/a/img913/7827/On37F9.gif"/>

Offline BenYeeHua

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Gender: Male
Re: Command line applications - how to keep them on the screen...
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2013, 10:45:34 PM »
You can always turn on shutter mode in your camera to catch the hilarious moment of displaying cute Command Prompt window.  ;)
lol, why not a screen record. ;D

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5232
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: Command line applications - how to keep them on the screen...
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2013, 12:18:02 PM »
Nice! That is something I'm also annoyed by.
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.

Offline Pr0fessor

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Command line applications - how to keep them on the screen...
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2013, 06:28:00 PM »
Do you work a lot with command line programs and are irritated by the fact that double-clicking an executable (usually) causes it to disappear quickly?
This is a DOS habit-leftover, where programs were launched from the prompt, so it was unnecessary for them to pause at their "end". A program was returning to the promt after having been executed and there was no graphical user interface to return to, except the prompt. Main aim of this trick is to make it possible to look up command line switches/arguments.

However, it is possible to work around it. I have tried to add an entry to right-click context menu and... it worked.



I attach 2 files along with the post - their names tell about themselves. The trick described above was proved working in Windows 7.
As always - this and every advice comes with no warranty, the user makes use of it at their own risk.

404 - Attachment Not Found    :(

Offline hanemach_gt

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member++
  • *****
  • Posts: 270
  • Gender: Male
Re: Command line applications - how to keep them on the screen...
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2013, 04:52:56 AM »
Done, Pr0fessor8)
<img src="http://imageshack.com/a/img913/7827/On37F9.gif"/>

Offline Pr0fessor

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 6